Series 6 Pass Rate 2026: The 58% Has No FINRA Source
| Specification | Series 6 |
|---|---|
| Scored questions | 50 |
| Time limit | 1h 30m |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Exam fee | $100 |
| Administered by | FINRA |
If you're looking for the official Series 6 pass rate, here is the straight answer: FINRA, which administers the Investment Company and Variable Contracts Products Representative exam, does not publish one. FINRA's Series 6 page lists the exam's specifications — 50 scored questions, a 90-minute duration, a passing score of 70, a $100 fee — and no pass rate appears among them. Any specific percentage you see quoted for the Series 6 is an estimate from a test-prep company or a survey, not an official statistic.
The 58% you see everywhere has no FINRA source
Search for a Series 6 pass rate and you'll find confident figures — 58%, 59%, a 60–70% range — some of them attributed directly to FINRA. The pages quoting those numbers do not link to a FINRA publication, and FINRA's own Series 6 page publishes no rate. This site briefly repeated the 58% figure too, before an August 2026 sourcing review found no primary document behind it and removed it. The honest position is the one FINRA's silence forces: no verified Series 6 pass rate exists.
For context, the only FINRA pass-rate disclosure we have been able to verify concerns a different exam: FINRA reported a 74% pass rate for the SIE — once, in 2019 — and has published nothing since. That figure and its limits are covered in our SIE pass-rate article. Nothing equivalent exists for the Series 6.
How the Series 6 is scored
According to FINRA, the Series 6 consists of 50 scored questions and you have 1 hour and 30 minutes to complete them. The passing score is 70, which on a 50-question exam means answering at least 35 questions correctly. That threshold is a fixed standard, not a curve — you are not competing with anyone else in the testing room, only with the 35-question bar.
Plan around the full appointment, not just the exam clock: FINRA notes that exam appointment times include an additional 30 minutes for the tutorial and the post-exam survey. The fee is $100, and a candidate must be associated with and sponsored by a FINRA member firm or another self-regulatory organization member firm to sit for the exam.
Half the exam is one job function
The most useful number FINRA does publish is in the exam's function table. The Series 6 is organized into four job functions, and the allocation is wildly unequal: Function 3 — providing customers with information about investments and making recommendations — carries 25 of the 50 scored items. The other three functions combined account for the remaining 25: seeking business (12 items), opening accounts (8 items), and processing transactions (5 items).
That allocation is the closest thing to a pass-rate insight the official record offers. Whether you pass the Series 6 is decided mostly by how well you handle investment company products, variable contracts, and suitability — a candidate who is shaky on Function 3 cannot make it up elsewhere, because everything else together is only worth as much as that one function.
How to improve your odds
Since the pass standard is fixed and public, preparation reduces to a measurable goal: consistently clearing 35 of 50 on realistic, timed practice before you book the real thing.
- Baseline early. Take a full-length, timed practice exam to find where you stand while there is still time to fix it — you can start with our free Series 6 practice exam. The practice bank holds more questions than the real exam, so drill in 50-question, 90-minute sets that mirror the sitting you will actually face.
- Weight your study the way FINRA weights the exam. Function 3 is half the test, so product knowledge and recommendation rules deserve roughly half your preparation, and your weakest Function 3 subtopics deserve it first.
- Handle the SIE corequisite deliberately. The Series 6 has the Securities Industry Essentials exam as a corequisite, and a passing SIE result is valid for four years. If your SIE is already done, all of your attention belongs on the Series 6's product and suitability material rather than re-covering SIE fundamentals.
- Retest until the bar feels routine. The $100 fee covers one sitting, so a retake means paying it again. Re-test under exam conditions — 50 questions, 90 minutes — until you clear 35 with a cushion, not by a single question. Our Series 6 study guide breaks the outline into a plan.
The bottom line
There is no official Series 6 pass rate — not 58%, not any other figure. What is official gives you everything you need: 50 scored questions, 90 minutes, a fixed 35-correct bar, and a content outline that puts half the exam in one job function. Train against that standard until you clear it comfortably, and the number nobody can verify becomes irrelevant to you.
The Series 6 is one of the four securities exams I passed on my own route from software engineering into financial planning. What worked for me across them: knowledge framework first, then concentrated question practice — with every miss filed by its topic and re-reviewed until the pile stopped growing.
Vincent Ruan, EA, CFP® · scope and limits in the full disclosure
What the cited data shows
Built from the official facts cited in this article. Missing values are omitted, not estimated.
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Fee | $100 | FINRA |
| Document | Effective date | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| FINRA: Qualification Exams Overview | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: Series 6 – Investment Company and Variable Contracts Products Representative Qualification Examination | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
Free Series 6 practice test — 67 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.
Sources
- 1.Series 6 – Investment Company and Variable Contracts Products Representative Qualification Examination — FINRA (accessed Aug 30, 2026)
- 2.FINRA Qualification Exams Overview — FINRA (accessed Aug 30, 2026)
- 3.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam — FINRA (accessed Aug 30, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
What is the official Series 6 pass rate?
There isn't one. FINRA, which administers the Series 6, does not publish a pass rate for it — the exam's official page lists 50 scored questions, a 90-minute duration, a passing score of 70, and a $100 fee, with no pass rate among the specifications. Treat any specific percentage you see quoted online as an unverified estimate.
Did FINRA report a 58% pass rate for the Series 6?
No FINRA publication we can verify discloses a Series 6 pass rate, and the pages quoting 58% or 59% do not link to one. The only FINRA pass-rate disclosure we have verified is for a different exam — the SIE, at 74%, stated once in 2019. FINRA's own Series 6 page publishes no rate.
What score do you need to pass the Series 6?
The passing score is 70, which on the exam's 50 scored questions means answering at least 35 correctly. You have 1 hour and 30 minutes, and the threshold is a fixed standard rather than a curve, so your result depends only on clearing the bar — not on how other candidates perform.
Is the Series 6 exam hard?
Its difficulty is concentrated: Function 3 — providing customers with information about investments and making recommendations — carries 25 of the 50 scored items, so half the exam lives in one job function. Candidates who are solid on investment company products, variable contracts, and suitability tend to clear the 35-correct bar; those who punt that material cannot make it up on the other functions, which total 25 items combined.
How much does the Series 6 cost if I have to retake it?
The exam fee is $100 and it covers one sitting, so each retake means paying the fee again. You must also be associated with and sponsored by a FINRA member firm (or another self-regulatory organization member firm) to take the exam, and the SIE corequisite — valid for four years once passed — has its own separate fee.